Kukurijō was constructed by the Toki Clan in the Muromachi Period. The Toki warred against the Saitō Clan at nearby Kaneyamajō (Mino Kaneyama Castle), and in 1548, Lord Toki Eigoro killed Lord Saitō Masayoshi in battle. Lord Mori Yoshinari took over Kaneyamajō in 1565, having been appointed by Oda Nobunaga. His son, Lord Mori Nagayoshi, destroyed Kukurijō in 1583.
Kukurijō is a fantastic yamajiro (mountaintop) castle site which is nonetheless very easy to access, requiring very little climbing to explore. It has such interesting features as kuruwa (baileys), dorui (earthen ramparts), masugata (box-shaped gate complexes) and horikiri (trenches), including a large double moat system. The site is split into two parts with the main castle in the south and a subsidiary wing situated along another ridge to the north. The main portion is very well maintained, and a path with rope-guides and signs even extends to the forested northern ridge, bringing one back down the mountain that way. This is luxury for yamajiro fans! Please be aware that bears have been recently seen at the castle.
|Prefectural Historic Site
|Pre Edo Period
|Kuruwa, Horkiri, Dorui, Masugata Koguchi, Ishigaki
|trenches, stone walls
|From Kani Station on the Taita Line: 15 minutes by car, 80 minutes on foot. From Mitakeguchi Station on the Meitetsu Hiromi Line: 10 minutes by car, 60 minutes on foot.
|Free; 24/7; Mountain
|Kani, Gifu Prefecture
|35° 24' 16.16" N, 137° 6' 47.16" E
|Added to Jcastle
|Admin Year Visited
|Friends of JCastle