Founded in 1426, Yanagawa Castle was the original home of the Date clan. The Date ruled until Toyotomi Hideyoshi’s victory over the Odawara Clan when the Date submitted and their territory was broken up in 1591. At that time the castle came under the hegemony of Aizu Domain and Gamō Yorisato was put in charge. In 1598 Uesugi Kagekatsu became Daimyō of Aizu-han and he put Suda Nagayoshi in charge of Yanagawajō. It is thought that around this time a large embankment and wide trench was excavated north of the sannomaru (third bailey).Following the Battle of Sekigahara, the Date Clan, on the side of Tokugawa Ieyasu (Eastern Army), attacked the Uesugi clan siding with Ishida Mitsunari (Western Army). The Date attacked Yanagawajō from Ōedajō. Following the succession crisis after the death of Uesugi Tsunakatsu in 1644, the surrounding territory was taken into Tenryō administration (direct control by the Shogunate) and Yanagawajō was abolished.
All that remains at this site is a length of ishigaki (stone rampart), but it overlooks a pretty garden, creating a very picturesque scene. Recently a building was moved away from the site allowing for the excavations which are currently being carried out.
|Prefectural Historic Site
|Pre Edo Period
|water moats, trenches, stone walls
|Yanagawa Kibonomorikōen-mae Station (Abukuma Express Line); 5 minute walk
|Date City, Fukushima Prefecture
|37° 51' 18.79" N, 140° 36' 40.57" E
|Added to Jcastle
|Admin Year Visited
|Friends of JCastle